26 July 2020

Sydney FC capture Premiers Plate for fourth time

Reigning A-League champions Sydney FC have claimed a record fourth Premiers Plate as the COVID-19-affected 2019-20 season continues.

Wellington Phoenix's 1-all draw with Adelaide confirmed Sydney's lead at the top of the ladder was unassailable.

It is the third time in the past four seasons that Sydney FC have claimed the minor premiership.

"We want to go on and win the grand final and become back-to-back champions, a feat achieved by only one other club," coach Steve Corica said.

That was Brisbane Roar in 2012 and 2013.

A repeat grand final win would also be the Sky Blues' fifth, moving them one clear of Melbourne Victory.

Sydney FC Chairman Scott Barlow paid tribute to everyone involved with the club after the Wellington-Adelaide draw.

“An incredible night for our club and a remarkable achievement by a special group of players and coaches.

“Tonight we won our fourth Premiers Plate, a new record for an A-League club, and combined with our four Championship titles, adds to our club’s long history of success.

“The last few months has certainly had its challenges and I’d like to thank everyone at the club, including our passionate fans and Members, for their patience, professionalism and commitment to Sydney FC. This title belongs to all of you.”

The Premiers Plate win is Corica’s first as head doach and follows his Championship success last season, in only his second season in charge.

“I am thrilled to have secured the Premiership tonight and delighted for our Sydney FC Members,” he said.

“I want to thank the club, my players and my staff who have been exceptional all season, and of course those fantastic Members for their support throughout what has been a very challenging time.

“We will enjoy this tonight, but we still have four games to go and targets left to hit."


Explore Tags